Bread Alone

Book Crossing.

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

I had never heard of this until Sunday when I was out for walk with a friend and her dog when I found a book in one of the pavilions in the middle of the floor.

Lola- Book Detective
Lola- Book Detective

I picked it up and actually wondered who would just leave a book like that but I noticed the sticker the yellow sticker on the front of the book:

What is it? Book trading with strangers

What do you do? When you find a book registered log on…then read and release me….

I was a little unsure whether I could take the book, having never heard of Book Crossing, but we decided that it was ok to do, especially after we read the sticker on the inside of the book:

Making acquaintances
Making acquaintances

Bread Alone, the  book I found, is probably not one I’d pick up in a bookstore, but it does sound good and is perfect for a drizzly day like today.  So, I’m looking forward to starting it and then seeing how far it travels once I’ve released it back into the wild. 

This is such a cool concept, I love the idea of releasing a book into the wild and being able to see how far around the world it gets. I haven’t released a book yet, but I will and I’m pretty excited about it too! I wonder how many other people have heard of this and are actively involved?  

It would be really cool to get schools involved and have the students take a book with them when they go on a trip somewhere. If I was still working at a school I would definitely use this with the book club programme, anything to keep reading alive.  

So, from now on I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled because you never know when you might stumble up on a book…

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bread Alone

  1. I’ve heard of Book Crossing, but I haven’t found a stickered book yet! I really love the concept too, especially because I always wonder where a book has been when I buy used. It’s cool that you can “hunt” books on their site too!

    Have you heard of PaperBack Swap? It kind of reminds me of Book Crossing.

  2. I always wonder where books have been too, just looked up PaperBack Swap, I hadn’t heard of that either, but it looks cool.

    I hope you find a stickered book soon!

Leave a Reply

